The prize Lionel Messi has never received, as the PSG star competes in Monaco for the Golden Foot against Harry Kane and Kevin de Bruyne

The legendary Lionel Messi has only VERY RARELY been denied trophies and individual honors.

However, the prestigious Golden Foot is one of them, and for its 20th edition, he’ll be up against several of the Premier League’s top players.


Messi has won pretty much every club trophy and individual award BUT the Golden Foot


Manchester United's Ronaldo won the award in 2020


Ronaldo's footprint is alongside other winners and legends of football on the Promenade of the Champions in Monte Carlo


The 35-year-old Paris Saint-Germain star has been eligible for the prize for seven years, but despite a glittering, trophy-filled career, he has yet to win it.

Messi is the second-most decorated player in history, having contributed to an astounding 1,157 goals and winning 40 trophies at the club and international levels.

In addition, he has received several Golden Boots and a record-breaking SEVEN Ballon d’Or awards.

Messi will be eager to pin an honor back on his legendary Portuguese rival because Mohamed Salah of Liverpool won in 2021, and Cristiano Ronaldo did the same the year before.

Ronaldo is eliminated because winners cannot be nominated again, which benefits Messi.

Additionally, candidates must be at least 28 years old and still active, so rising stars Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappe are not a threat.

The nominees include Premier League players Virgil van Dijk, Kevin de Bruyne, Jorginho, Harry Kane, N’Golo Kante, Heung min-Son, and Jorginho.

Alongside Messi, they will compete for a permanent spot in “the Hollywood of football” with a number of the sport’s biggest stars.


The winner will have their footprint inscribed on Monaco’s Promenade of Champions.

Also mentioned is Neymar, who is aiming to help Brazil win the World Cup in November or December.

Luis Suarez, a former striker for Barcelona and Liverpool, will also be well-liked.

Additionally, Messi and company will face tough opposition from Sergio Ramos and Manuel Neuer.

At the event, legends are also honored, and Fatih Terim is the first of four people to be chosen for an award.

Terim is best known for his three years as Turkey’s manager and four separate stints at Galatasaray.

Additionally, he was a manager in Italy, where he oversaw Fiorentina in 2000 and AC Milan in 2001.

On December 21, Prince Albert II of Monaco will honor the four legends along with the Golden Foot winner.

Tottenham's Kane could scoop the award this December


Manchester City star De Bruyne has been nominated for the Golden Foot award


Ronaldinho alongside his footprint


Frank de Boer (Left) taking a stroll along the The Champions Promenade


Micheal Kurt

I earned a bachelor's degree in exercise and sport science from Oregon State University. He is an avid sports lover who enjoys tennis, football, and a variety of other activities. He is from Tucson, Arizona, and is a huge Cardinals supporter.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button